Texas Driving Under Influence (DUI)
In Texas Driving Under Influence (DUI) charges only come into play with minors. Unlike other states, Texas calls alcohol/intoxication driving charges Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) instead of DUI which it is commonly referred to in other states.
DUI is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by a fine up to $500 with no jail time. If a minor is operating a motor vehicle under the influence of any alcohol he or she may be cited for Class C DUI. However, if a minor child is operating a motor vehicle and is legally intoxicated, he or she may be charged with DWI just like an adult.
Like with DWIs in Texas, a minor child may have his or her driver’s license suspended for DUI. The Texas Department of Public Safety may and probably will suspend the driver’s license of any minor who is found to be operating a vehicle after consuming any amount of alcohol. In other words, if an officer testifies that he could smell and odor of alcohol coming from a minor’s breath the Department of Public Safety can suspend the license automatically for 60 - 120 days. Generally, an officer will simply give a citation to a minor if he feels that they have only consumed a small amount of alcohol and release them to an adult. However, like mentioned above, if the officer feels that the minor is possibly intoxicated, that individual can be arrested for DWI.